A Weekend with Coraline

Magic Garden, originally uploaded by Musings and Wanderings.

I saw Coraline on Saturday with my little brother and was amazed! Not only was the story pretty unique, the movie was so intricate and beautiful to look at. It was even more exciting to see my old elementary/middle/high school friend’s name in the credits.

The following day, I went to the Cartoon Art Museum in San Francisco to look at the special Art of Coraline exhibit. Here’s a couple of interesting factoids about the movie:

  • The gray sweater that Coraline wears (the one covered in glow in the dark stars) was hand knitted using tiny needles, that looked like they were the size of sewing needles.
  • The cherry blossoms in the magic garden were made of popcorn.

If you haven’t seen this movie, you should. Just be advised, this is not a movie for young children, especially if they are easily frighten…..

Share

2 thoughts on “A Weekend with Coraline

  1. Rita says:

    I loved the movie too! I didn’t know there was an Art of Coroline exhibit! It’s right by my office! I definitely want to check it out! How awesome that her sweater was hand knit! and her mittens too?

Leave a comment